Perpetrators of War Crime

Profile – List of culpable Individuals accused of War Crimes in Sri Lanka

Culpable Individuals who have been accused of War Crimes in Sri Lanka, during the 2009 blood-bath on the beaches are now being posted to diplomatic posts and seeking diplomatic immunity. Todate, Sri Lankan Government has posted 3 such high ranking officers who were directly involved in the massacre of tamils. War Without Witness is in the process of collecting the list and evidences related to perpetrators of war crimes in Sri Lanka and the below is not a full list.  Human Rights Organisations and Human Rights activists around the world are urged to share this informaton with your respective Country Foreign Ministry/Home Ministry and Intelligence Agencies/National Security Bodies urgently to prevent these War Criminals seeking diplomatic immunity.


1) Gotapaya Rajapaksa and Sarath Fonseka

For detail charges please visit

2) Major General Jagath Dias – Commander of 57th Division of Sri Lankan Army – War Crimes committed by Sri Lanka on unarmed civilians inside the safety zone in Mullaiththeevu in 2009

3) Brigadier Shavendra Silva, Commander 58th Division or Task Force 1
4) Brigadier Nandana Udawatte, Commander  59th Division
5) Brigadier Kamal Gunarathne , Commander 53rd  Division
Current Position – Major General Kamal Gunaratne , General Officer Commanding (GOC) – 53 Division
6) Brigadier Prasanna Silva , Commander 55th  Divison
7) Brigadier Rohana Bandara , Commander Task Force 2
8) Brigadier Sathyapirya Liyanage , Commander Task Force 3
9) Colonel Nishantha Wanniarachchi , Commander Task Force 4
10) Major General Nandana Udawatta, Commander Security Forces Headquarters – Mullaittivu
11) Colonel G.V. Ravipriya , Commander Task Force-8
12) Major General Jagath Jayasuriya
13) Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda
14) Real Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe
15) Major General G. A. Chandrasiri, Chief of Staff of the Sri Lanka Army

Last Updated: 15th July 2009